Skip to content

Back to Music previews... / Apr 26, 2019

Best Albums of May 2019: previews the top 10...

The National, Vampire Weekend and Cate Le Bon are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in May...

The National, Vampire Weekend and Cate Le Bon are among the artists with new albums hitting shelves in May...


Vampire Weekend - Father Of The Bride

(Out May 3rd)


The acclaimed indie types finally unveil the long-awaited follow-up to Modern Vampires Of The City, an album released a full six years ago. 

Produced by long-time collaborator Ariel Rechtshaid as well as frontman Ezra Koenig, the album finds the band in vintage form, mixing tender ballads with brightly coloured indie pop, all soundtracked by their trademark offbeat production and angular guitars. 

Among the guests on the album are Mark Ronson, The Internet's Steve Lacy, Dirty Projectors' David Longstreth, Danielle Haim and Jenny Lewis as well as former guitarist Rostam Batmanglij.



The National - I Am Easy To Find

(Out May 17th)


The Ohio titans release their eighth studio album next month, their first since 2017's Sleep Well Beast. 

With a meaty 16 tracks, two songs that clock in at well over six minutes and a running time over an hour, the album is the band's most epic for quite some time. 

Lisa Hannigan, Sharon Van Etten, Mina Tindle, former David Bowie stalwart Gail Ann Dorsey and Kate Stables, better known as This Is The Kit, all guest on the album.

The album is accompanied by a 24-minute short film starring Oscar winner Alicia Vikander, who also features on the LP's cover. 



Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes - End Of Suffering

(Out May 3rd)


The former Gallows and Pure Love man drops the third album with his band The Rattlesnakes. 

Recorded with producers Cam Blackwood and Alan Moulder, the album sees Carter embracing big grooves and sludgy guitars, moving away from the frenetic punk of his earlier work. 

The album features a guest appearance from Rage Against The Machine man Tom Morello, who helps out on 'Tyrant Lizard King'. 



Carly Rae Jepsen - Dedication

(Out May 17th)


Four years after her last full-length effort, we finally get a new album from pop darling Carly Rae Jepsen. 

Confirmed to feature new singles 'No Drug Like Me' and 'Now That I Found You', the album is set run at 15 tracks. 



Rammstein - Rammstein

(Out May 17th)


At long last, a full 10 years after their last studio album Liebe ist für alle da, the fiery German industrial metallers are back with a new effort, which is still as yet untitled.

Recorded with Muse/Mastodon knob twiddler Rich Costey, the album finds the band in typically bombastic form. 

Lead-off single 'Deutschland' is accompanied by a typically bats**t video, which you can see below:



The Amazons - Future Dust

(Out May 24th)


The hotly-tipped Reading indie types unveil their second album next month. 

The album sees the band reunite with producer Catherine Marks and sees the foursome channelling blues and 70s rock into their sound with real gusto. 



Cate Le Bon - Reward

(Out May 24th)


The Welsh singer-songwriter returns with her fifth studio album next month, her first since 2016's Crab Day. 

Recorded in both Los Angeles and the singer's native Wales, the album includes appearances from Warpaint’s Stella Mozgawa, H. Hawkline and production from Samur Khouja. 



Honeyblood - In Plain Sight

(Out May 24th)


Once a duo, the Glaswegian riotous indie punks are now a solo project for singer/guitarist Stina Tweeddale after the departure of drummer Cat Myers. 

The project's new album has been produced by John Congleton, who has previously worked with St Vincent, Nelly Furtado and Blondie. 

The new record is the project's poppiest to date, with big choruses colliding with Tweeddale's taste for powerhouse guitars. 



Barrie - Happy To Be Here

(Out May 3rd)


The Brooklyn five-piece, lead by multi-instrumentalist Barrie Lindsay, release their debut album in May. 

The band's sound is a mishmash of whimsical indie pop, Day-Glo electronics and elegant sonics. Think Deerhoof teaming up with Haim. 

Co-produced by Lindsay and Snail Mail/Solange knob twiddler Jake Aron, the album is a carnival of sound and an awful lot of fun. 




Lewis Capaldi - Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent

(Out May 17th)


The hotly-tipped Scottish singer-songwriter unveils his full-length debut next month. 

Among the production talent on the album are frequent Zayn and Frank Ocean collaborator Malay and TMS, writers of huge hits for Jess Glynne and Little Mix among others. 

The album features hit singles 'Grace', 'Bruises' and the monster smash 'Someone You Loved'. 


Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*