Skip to content

Nduggu: Dust Rafiki Jazz


Barcode: 5051565221411

  • Format CD Album
  • Category: World Music
  • Released: 7th May 2021
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    "Rafiki Jazz exemplify the moment where culture, faith, sound and spirit collide in their 5th studio album, Nduggu (pronounced 'un-doo-goo') meaning 'Dust'. Once again, Rafiki Jazz place musical diversity at the forefront of their music with 8 new internationalist songs of enlightenment and change that cherish the human spirit, its joy and its fragility. The dust that is Nduggu is both physical and symbolic. Rafiki Jazz focus on the changing climate with ever-increasing desertification of Northern Africa, while dust also acts as a symbol reflecting our ultimate destiny.
    The message of the title track 'Nduggu Bouy' challenges what is happening in the Sahel region of Africa, between the Sahara to the north and Sudan to the south. Is anyone taking notice?  'Nduggu Bouy' is steeped in melodic charms and smooth vocals, encapsulating the collective sounds of the band, their experiences and transitions.  The track also features the unmovable force in the fabric of Rafiki Jazz that is London-based hereditary griot: Kadialy Kouyate. Featuring his warm and soulful Fula singing and the stunning 21-string kora, Kouyate notably brings the traditional West African harp to meet traditional Southern Asian tabla drums and more...
    Since 2006, the longevity of Rafiki Jazz has seen them touring the globe from Montreal to their hometown of Sheffield. However, 2020 saw the world of music uprooted and thrown into a new isolated online virtual realm. In keeping with their pledge to stay accessible, Rafiki Jazz took on a whole new approach of recording their 5th album, using online collaborative 'real time' music sharing platforms. A perfect example of their collaborative methods is the Turkish ode to their band manager 'Gesi Baglari' in which all members of the band contributed the tracks compositions remotely from the comfort of their homes.
    Equipped with funding from the Arts Council, each memberof the group set up their own home digital recording workstations, as well as being able to feature guest artists K.O.G. aka Kweku Sackey on the rich highlife track 'Ngozi Ucheoma' (Unlock your heart…life is a blessing) and guest percussionists Millie Chapanda and Amir Ezzat plus audio programmer-engineer Robin Downe. As well as this, old souls come together in a new role: long term violinist Vijay Venkat shocked the band by picking up the vocal mic on 'Naalaikku Nalla Naal (Tomorrow Is A Good Day). The album also features the comeback of a previously recorded track: this time produced as a more traditional and authentic take of the Kashmiri lullaby 'Hukus Bukus'.
    Whilst Rafiki Jazz has always exemplified multiculturalism with their 'big band' aesthetics as an orchestra that features steel pans, tablas, berimbau, darbuka, kora, maqam vocals, bass, ouds and flutes, this pandemic-lead album is a true intersection of individualism and collaboration. Altogether an eclectic and exciting album, triumphantly and successfully complete, circumventing the constraints of online remote working. This album may be Rafiki Jazz's finest.
    Rafiki Jazz musicians: Sarah Yaseen: vocals, conga, djembe; Catherine Ngozi Carr: vocals, guitar, steelpans; Mina Mikhail Salama: vocals, oud, saz, duduk, kawala, ney, glockenspiel, udu; Kadialy Kouyate: vocals, kora; Vijay Venkat: vocals, violin, viola, bansuri; Toni Koni: bass guitar, clave; John Ball: tabla, santoor; Guery Tibirica: berimbau, pandeiro, gumbe.
    Special guest musicians: Millie Chapanda: hosho, dunun, vocal call; K.O.G.: vocals, bongo, agogo, handclaps, djembe; Amir Ezzat: riqq, daf, darbuka; Robin Downe: programming, handclaps."
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Naalaikku Nalla Naal - Tomorrow Is a Good Day (India) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 2 Nduggu Bouy - Too Much Dust (Guinea) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 3 Tum Na Aaye - Before You Came (Pakistan) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 4 Ngozi Ucheoma - Blessings (Nigeria/Ghana) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 5 Omkoth Ma'ai - Stay With Me (Egypt) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 6 Bani - Refusal (Senegal) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 7 Hukus Bukus - Where Are You and I? (Kashmir) Rafiki Jazz
    Track 8 Gesi Baglari - Gesi Vineyards (Turkey) Rafiki Jazz
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format CD / Album
    Label Cadiz - Konimusic
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed.  
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at our warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 
    • Products labelled '*item fulfilled by Exertis on behalf of hmv' will be supplied to you directly by Exertis via their approved couriers. When you place an order for an item that is fulfilled by Exertis, your details shall be forwarded to them so that they can fulfil the order, and to their courier so that they can deliver the item.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse.
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • We’re happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided that they are returned within 14 days of receipt; unopened, unused, and in perfect condition.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our Help Centre for more details. 

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*