Skip to content

Mascara Streakz - Limited Edition Silver Vinyl Altered Images


Barcode: 711297532593

  • Format Vinyl 12" Album
  • Category: Rock & Pop
  • Released: 16th September 2022
Click & Collect

Get it delivered to a store near you with FREE Click & Collect available on this product.

Ring & Reserve

Can't wait to get your hands on this? Ring to reserve at your local store, subject to availability: 03333 230 667

There was an error adding this product to your basket. Please try again.

Delivery to the UK only
Free UK delivery on orders over £20

Usually dispatched within 24 hours
  • Description

  • Track listing

  • Product Details

  • Delivery and Returns

  • Description

    In their first incarnation, Altered Images and their iconic frontwoman Clare Grogan enjoyed an intense burst of success that made them the brightest emerging stars of the new wave scene as well as the Best New Act at the NME Awards. In just two years, they released three studio albums and a catalogue of Top 10 classics - ‘Happy Birthday’, ‘I Could Be Happy’ and ‘Don’t Talk To Me About Love’ - that are still being discovered today. Altered Images have been touring on-and-off for the past two decades, most recently returning to arenas as guests of The Human League, but new music was never on the cards… until now.

    Now Altered Images - led by Clare Grogan - make a long awaited return with the news that they will release their new album ‘Mascara Streakz’ on August 26th. They today share their new single, the album’s title track, which represents the first new Altered Images music in almost forty years. Their return will also gather pace with the confirmation of a UK headline tour which begins this September.

    The ‘Mascara Streakz’ single captures the essence of what Altered Images aimed to achieve with the album. Like their big hits and fan favourites, it is instantly immediate but its synth-pop melody and contemporary beats are an evolution from the band’s original spiky guitar pop style. The result respects everything that Altered Images were the first time around, but also sounds like a very organic next step. The ‘Mascara Streakz’ she references are a nod to those wild, life-affirming nights out that, through laughter or tears, leave your make-up looking less than pristine.

    Clare Grogan says, “This song is my homage to all the crazy nights out that I’ve had. I think it’s a metaphor for life! The fun, the dancing, the drama, the tears, the tequila shots, the lust! It was inspired by so many artists I’ve danced to around the world from Kraftwerk to the Tom Tom Club. A DJ saved my life many times.”

    Given that Clare Grogan’s many talents include acting for the stage and screen, presenting a variety of TV and radio shows, and writing two hit books, it’s no wonder that making music wasn’t at the forefront of her mind. But when the second lockdown was introduced, she was compelled to create something new. Joined by her husband and Altered Images alumni Stephen Lironi, Clare started writing and recording around the kitchen table, before further collaborators appeared as restrictions were lifted: their near-neighbour, former Suede guitarist Bernard Butler, and Robert Hodgens (aka Bobby Bluebell of The Bluebells), a contemporary from Glasgow’s early ‘80s music scene.

    Consequently, ‘Mascara Streakz’ is a set of songs that ranks up there with their very best early ‘80s hits. From the throbbing electro floor-filler ‘Colour of My Dreams’ to the pure pop euphoria of ‘Home’ and daring, dazzling disco on ‘Glitter Ball’, it’s apparent that Altered Images in 2022 is about looking ahead to the future.
  • Track listing

    Track Track name Artist Time
    Track 1 Mascara Streakz Altered Images
    Track 2 Red Startles the Sky Altered Images
    Track 3 Colour of My Dreams Altered Images
    Track 4 Glitter Ball Altered Images
    Track 5 Your Life Is Mine Altered Images
    Track 6 Home Altered Images
    Track 7 Beautiful Thing Altered Images
    Track 8 Changing My Luck Altered Images
    Track 9 Lost of Love Altered Images
    Track 10 Double Reflection Altered Images
    Track 11 The Flame Altered Images
    Track 12 Sleep Altered Images
  • Product Details

    No. of discs 1 disc(s)
    Format Vinyl / 12" Album Coloured Vinyl (Limited Edition)
    Label Cooking Vinyl
  • Delivery and Returns

    When will my order arrive?

    • If the items are in stock, we’ll aim to dispatch them within 24 hours of your order being placed.  
    • Orders sent via Royal Mail 48® are usually received within two to five working days, including Saturdays. 
    • Orders sent via the Express Delivery service will be dispatched the same day if ordered by 2pm, Monday to Friday (excluding public holidays).
    • We will aim to dispatch pre-orders so that you receive them on the release date.
    • Where an item is 'Back in stock soon', we'll aim to receive more stock within a week and will dispatch any orders once the shipment has arrived.
    • Certain items can take longer to source than the estimated week, particularly during busy trading periods and may take longer to arrive at our warehouse. In this instance, we'll send weekly updates to keep you aware. 
    • Products labelled '*item fulfilled by Exertis on behalf of hmv' will be supplied to you directly by Exertis via their approved couriers. When you place an order for an item that is fulfilled by Exertis, your details shall be forwarded to them so that they can fulfil the order, and to their courier so that they can deliver the item.

    Delivery charges

    • Free delivery is available for most items when the order exceeds £20, but any exceptions will be clearly highlighted.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery via the Royal Mail 48® service and other items are available for delivery using this service for a charge.
    • Selected items are only available for delivery using Click & Collect to an hmv or FOPP store of your choice.
    • All delivery options and any charges that are applicable will be shown at the checkout.

    Will you tell me when my order is on its way?

    • We will email you as soon as each item is ready to be dispatched so you know when to expect them, but you can also check the status of your order in your account.
    • We don’t always ship everything together so check your dispatch email for more details - we’ll send you a dispatch email per parcel.
    • If your order contains items that are out of stock, we’ll ship the in-stock items as soon as we can and will dispatch the out-of-stock items as soon as we’ve received more stock in the warehouse.
    • For items that are dispatched using our standard service, we ask that you wait 14 days from the date of dispatch before reporting any items as undelivered.


    • We’re happy to accept returns for unwanted items, provided that they are returned within 14 days of receipt; unopened, unused, and in perfect condition.
    • Some exclusions apply, please visit our Help Centre for more details. 

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

Sign-up for emails

I'd love to hear about offers and promotions from hmv*